A little make just for me…

Why is it that you have those ideas going through your head that somehow wake you up in the middle of the night? I’ve had a few of those this week but I never seem able to remember what they were in the morning…maybe I’m just getting old!!! I was speaking about this with my mam and she told me to have a pen and paper at the ready to jot down those little things when they pop into my head. I had an idea that I would make myself a little notebook to be on standby for the next big idea!!!

I chose some coordinating fabrics out of my stash, added an appliqué sewing machine (Sew Inspired magazine gift template), stitched coordinating ribbon in place with decorative border stitching and then attempted free motion embroidery to write the word ‘sewing’. A little button was used to ‘dot’ the eye.

I’m quite pleased with my little make but had a few little ‘moments’ that were learning moments:

  • When using bondaweb for appliqué remember the shape will be reversed…hence my backward facing sewing machine!
  • Practice, practice and practice again to develop free motion embroidery techniques that will make ‘writing’ a little more defined.
  • It’s probably not the best time of day to start sewing a project just before midnight!

I’ve had my little sewing ideas book beside my bed all night and not a single idea woke me up…never mind, my little book is ready and waiting!!!

3 thoughts on “A little make just for me…

Leave a Reply

