Being creative for Crafter’s Companion


A short while ago I saw a post by Crafter’s Companion on Facebook, they were looking for people with a passion for crafting to apply to be on their ‘Inspirers’ Design Team. Not only did they want papercrafters but they wanted people who could sew too! I thought about it and thought about it some more….then applied. A little while later I was delighted to be one of three lucky ladies to be chosen as sewing Inspirers on the design team…happy days! It means I get to sew for a purpose as well as the pleasure!


The sewing bit is the easy bit, what I’ve had to get to grips with is all the social media aspects…hence starting this blog! I’ve never had so many Facebook notifications on a daily basis before…except those related to my weight loss journey with Slimming World! I’ve started pinning on Pinterest…rather than just looking at pretty things in mason jars! I’ve started to capture a little bit of my crafting on this blog and just set up my Angerella’s crafts Facebook page too. What I need to get into the habit of now is to share more of my lovely makes with you on here and when the time is right I’ll be sharing some of my sewing tutorials too. Good news isn’t it!!!

So…time to share, I hope you like my make!


This is the first project I completed for Crafter’s Companion. It’s a very pretty patchwork cushion using the Threaders mini charm pack which comes in the thread pack. The mini charm squares are a gorgeous sample of all 18 fabrics in the Threaders Spring fabric collection, you get two squares in each of the designs. The designs are super sweet and the colours are bright and cheery. As soon as I saw them I thought of a pretty patchwork cushion. The beauty of charms or in this case, mini charms is you have the joy of sewing without having to do all the precision cutting…a great introduction to patchwork without the expense of rulers and rotary cutters, or maybe just a good way to patchwork when time is short! The added bonus of this pack is the lovely range of coordinating threads which are in the pack too, the colours are great and they’re 100% cotton thread.

http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/new-c2158/new-products-c848/threaders-spring-collection-threads-box-p29126
To frame the patchwork panel I used the very natural seeded cotton which coordinated well with the colour range in the mini charm squares. http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/fabric-c7083/fabrics-1-metre-c7781/1-metre-seeded-cotton-fabric-p28198

I also added a Suffolk Puff/yo yo to each corner in a vibrant pink cotton to bring out the pinks which were in a lot of the mini charm squares.

I like this cushion so much that it now sits pride of place in my new sewing room! If you look at the photos in my new sewing room post you might just spot it!

Happy crafting, x

Leave a Reply

