Strawberry tea 

As many of you may already know, the wonderful charity Breast Cancer Care has had a Summer fundraising drive with the theme of hosting a strawberry tea. Many people have signed up to host their own fundraising strawberry teas, including a friend of mine, Sonia.  The tea party was arranged by Sonia, and all of those invited were encouraged to take along a plate or two of food and a bottle with the aim of raising as much money as we could for such a good cause.

As soon as I heard about the tea I thought about beautiful strawberry bunting. I thought classy strawberry fabric would be easy to come by but I was wrong! The fabric outlets I visited seemed to only have really bright playful strawberry prints which wasn’t quite what I had in mind. After lots of searching I finally sourced some beautiful fabric: Moda, Strawberry Fields…I was so happy!

I made seven metres of strawberry bunting with vibrant red binding…it was perfect, just as I had imagined and hoped!

I told Sonia that I’d made some bunting and she was really pleased, so much so that she also asked me to make a matching tablecloth! I bought more of the fabric (the last that was on the bolt in the quilting shop) to edge a cream tablecloth. It was the first tablecloth I had made and I was really pleased with the decorative stitching I had done over the join in the two fabrics.

I had some strips of the strawberry fabric left over so I decided to make a summer strawberry wreath with them. I remembered seeing strawberry table weights in the Sew Inspired magazine so I downloaded the pattern and made some strawberries to hang in the centre of the wreath. The instructions in the magazine were really simple to follow and I had the strawberries and the wreath made in less than half an hour! 


What a perfect way to use up fabric scraps and finish with a really beautiful decoration! I’ve still got some scraps leftover so when I get the time I’m going to make one for myself…it looked beautiful hanging on the wreath hanger on my dining room door and I was a little sad to see it go to a new home! 

The fantastic news is that Sonia’s strawberry tea raised over £500 for  Breast Cancer Care and my strawberry crafts looked lovely and were admired, x

If you’d like to make your own strawberries, you can get a copy of Sew Inspired Issue 4 from Crafter’s Companion


http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/sew-inspired-magazine-c7353/debbie-shore-sew-inspired-issue-4-p29451
Happy crafting, x

Leave a Reply

