The perfect picnic

As a lover of things vintage, retro and antique as well as my modern luxuries, I was delighted with my favourite charity shop purchase of last year…my lovely new vintage Sirram picnic hamper!


My husband and I had a lovely day out together the other week and our picnic hamper had its first outing of the year! We had a great picnic packed with foodie delights at High Force in Teesdale, and much to our relief, the sun kindly carried on shining until we had packed the car to drive home!

The only thing my lovely picnic basket didn’t have with it was a set of napkins. When I got the Crafter’s Companion Inspirers July sewing schedule I was pleased to see one of the projects to be made was to have a Summer or a picnic theme…perfect opportunity to have a go at making napkins!


I made a set of six napkins, perfect for a picnic! I chose to use the linen look cotton fabric in a beige colour as the main napkin as it coordinated well with the cottage flowers fat quarters which I had received in my welcome pack. I also had the Debbie Shore cupcake appliqué die in my welcome pack and thought that would be a simple motif for each napkin.

I made the napkins out of a square of fabric which I cut across each corner to give an octagonal shape. I turned each edge and stitched them down with a honeycomb stitch. I cut out the cupcake die in the cottage flowers fat quarters and seeded cotton for the ‘icing’ then stitched using free motion embroidery.

To make the simple napkin rings look like the cherries on the cupcakes I simply covered buttons from the Debbie Shore button factory with the cottage flowers fat quarter fabric and tied the button onto a hair elastic.  These were then wrapped around the folded napkins and positioned on top of the cupcake icing…cute!

All of the materials to make my picnic napkins are available from Crafter’s Companion:

http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/new-c2158/new-products-c848/cottage-flowers-fat-quarters-p28939
http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/fabric-c7083/fabrics-1-metre-c7781/1-metre-of-linen-look-beige-fabric-p29465

http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/new-c2158/new-products-c848/debbie-shore-fabric-dies-cupcake-appliqu%C3%A9-p29345

http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/essentials-c7086/debbie-shore-27mm-button-making-factory-kit-p28742
Now I’ve made these picnic napkins I’m definitely going to make myself a set to coordinate with my picnic basket…I’m thinking of shades of blue!

Happy crafting, x

2 thoughts on “The perfect picnic

Leave a Reply

