Feeling the love

I seem to be going through a bit of a heart phase in my crafting lately and have made lots of things that seem to be decorated with hearts.  That is probably because I’ve enjoyed playing with my new Gemini die cutting machine and fabric dies, one of which is a set of hearts! Whenever you get something new you must have a bit of a play and an experiment so that’s what I’ve been doing!!!

When I first got my Debbie Shore heart frame applique dies I just kept cutting hearts, seeing how many layers I could cut through at any one time.  I was then left with a pile of hearts so I had to decide what to do with them!  I made some simple hanging hearts filled with lavender, a heart applique hoop art frame and some other bits and pieces.

I then thought I had better start ‘playing properly’ so I set out to make a shabby chic applique heart blanket which was one of my July makes for Crafter’s Companion ‘Inspirer’s’ Design Team.  I loved every minute of it! I used the Country Life charm squares and carefully positioned the third size heart die centrally on the fabric and cut them out in no time, how did I manage without these essential tools!!!


I randomly positioned the hearts and a few of the charm squares onto my fleece blanket and secured them with ‘stick and spray for fabric’.   This held them in place whilst stitching them on the sewing machine.  I used my free motion foot and stitched each patch and heart in a bit of a ‘not too careful fashion’ which added to the shabby chic feel of the project.  Once this was done I turned the blanket over and added some more patches onto the back, using the stitches as a guide for positioning.  I didn’t put heart fabrics on the reverse as I liked the look of the heart stitched outlines.

P1010650.JPG

I was then left with a little pile of charm squares with hearts cut out of the middle…ever the crafty crafter, I thought of a way to use them up!  I decided to make a coordinating shabby chic heart cushion using the charm squares and the stash staple…seeded cotton as this complimented the natural tones of the charm pack.  I stitched a regular nine patch with the squares, laid this over the seeded cotton, added wadding to the reverse and then carefully stitched around the heart outlines.  I made a simple envelope back for the cushion and it was finished in no time!  I love the simple applique and reverse applique effect.


These both look particularly well together on the occasional chair in my dining room…I do hope Crafter’s Companion don’t ask for them as samples!

P1010644.JPG

The materials to make my shabby chic collection are available from Crafter’s Companion:

http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/new-c2158/new-products-c848/country-life-charm-pack-floral-p28839
http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/fabric-c7083/fabrics-1-metre-c7781/1-metre-seeded-cotton-fabric-p28198


http://www.crafterscompanion.co.uk/sewing-c7081/tools-c7088/debbie-shore-fabric-dies-c7741/debbie-shore-fabric-dies-heart-frame-p28109

Leave a Reply

