Enjoying embroidery during #nationalembroiderymonth 

As February is national embroidery month I’ve been having a go at some different styles of hand stitching. This has also given me opportunity to dig out some ‘kits’ that have been hiding in my cupboard waiting for their turn!

I have quite a collection of the lovely Dandelion Designs bits and pieces…I just adore the redwork style of embroidery and the quality of Mandy Shaw’s work is second to none. I stitched a lovely redwork hanging heart for Valentines Day and just couldn’t put it down until it was finished! The simple backstitching was so relaxing and I’ve decided I think I like cotton a broder more than the usual stranded embroidery cotton.

I’ve also made a start on some Christmas hanging hearts as I’ve discovered I seem to have quite a collection of unopened kits…oops! I’ll share these at a more festive time!

Whilst sorting through my stash of kits I also discovered some other items of loveliness which I remember buying in the Hobbycraft clearance section when it first opened a couple of years ago…these are now lined up for their turn! First to be opened was a ‘Dimensions’ Birdcage cushion kit…this is nearly finished and is in need of a good iron!

Ready and waiting are a couple of panels which I’ll frame when completed and I’ll hang these with the ones I stitched a while ago:


I had a trip to Dainty Supplies at Washington and was drawn to a very simple embroidery kit which I thought I just had to buy…I know, I’m a bit naughty buying new when I’ve got years worth of sewing supplies ready and waiting to be used but sometimes you just have to!!! Anyway, I bought the lovely DMC embroidery kit ‘Home Sweet Home’ designed by Tamar Nahir-Yanai and again, I couldn’t stop stitching until it was finished! I love it!!! Basic stitches were back stitch, running stitch and lazy daisy stitch.

I have some fabric from the Makower Papillon range which I bought at the Crafter’s Companion store at Newton Aycliffe which I think will coordinate well with this embroidery so I’m going to make it into a mini cushion.

I was asked to make a project for my Inspirers design team role for Crafter’s Companion so I made an embroidered bunting cushion using the Debbie Shore triangle template.  I really enjoyed chain stitching the bunting together…happy memories of learning to sew at school!

So I have three days left in the national month of embroidery and I’m quite pleased with my makes but just wondering what else I can squeeze in before midnight on the 28th February…I’m fancying a little bit of silk ribbon embroidery I think!

Happy crafting, x

2 thoughts on “Enjoying embroidery during #nationalembroiderymonth 

Leave a Reply

